The Complete Town Hall Concert

© Blue Note (CDP 7243 8 28353 2 5)

  1. Freedom - Part One (3:45) (Charles Mingus)
  2. Freedom - Part Two (aka Clark In The Dark) (3:11) (Charles Mingus)
  3. Osmotin' (2:47) (Charles Mingus)
  4. Epitaph - Part One (7:00) (Charles Mingus)
  5. Peggy's Blue Skylight (5:17) (Charles Mingus)
  6. Epitaph - Part Two (5:08) (Charles Mingus)
  7. My Search (8:06) (Charles Mingus)
  8. Portrait (4:31) (Charles Mingus)
  9. Duke's Choice (aka Don't Come Back) (5:09) (Charles Mingus)
  10. Please Don't Come Back From The Moon (7:22) (Charles Mingus)
  11. In A Mellotone (aka Finale) (8:18) (Duke Ellington)
  12. Epitaph - Part One (alternate take) (7:22) (Charles Mingus)

Snooky Young, Ernie Royal, Richard Williams, Clark Terry, Eddie Armour, Lonnie Hillyer, Rolf Ericson (tp); Quentin Jackson, Britt Woodman, Jimmy Cleveland, Willie Dennis, Eddie Bert, Paul Faulise (tb); Eric Dolphy, Charles McPherson, Charlie Mariano, Buddy Collette (as); Romeo Penque (oboe); Zoot Sims, George Berg (ts); Jerome Richardson, Pepper Adams (bars); Danny Bank (contrabass cl); Jaki Byard, Toshiko Akiyoshi (p); Les Spann (g); Charles Mingus, Milt Hinton (b); Dannie Richmond (d); Warren Smith (vibes, perc); Grady Tate (perc); Melba Liston, Bob Hammer, Gene Roland (arr)
Date and place
October 12, 1962, Town Hall, New York City
Originally issued
as "Town Hall Concert" on United Artists UAJS in 1963

Content by Albrecht Heeffer. HTML by Griffo-IDeA. Modified by Alan Saul 2/17/98.